Twist & Twain Short Story Contest 2019-20

Twist & Twain is holding its 1st short story contest open to budding writers around the world. We wish to unearth new voices and encourage new writing. The last date of submission is 29 February 2020 and the winner will be announced by May-June 2020.


The Jury

Ernest Brawley

Ernest Brawley is a novelist and Hollywood scriptwriter. His novel The Rap has been adapted into the Hollywood movie Fastwalking starring James Woods and another novel Selena was purchased by Twentieth Century Fox. Ernest has also written two original movie scripts, The Dressing Of The Dead for writer/producer George Gonneau and The Northmen for producer Jeff Goldman. Other scripts ready to be made into motion pictures are Jihadi Joe, Streetlight and Love Has No Country. A widely travelled writer, Ernest Brawley visited India in the 1960s and was a former member of the United States Endowment for the Arts. He received his bachelor’s degree from San Francisco State University. He is from California, United States.

Dhruba Hazarika

Dhruba Hazarika is a highly experienced writer with numerous short stories to his credit. His novels A Bowstring Winter and Sons of Brahma and his collection of short stories titled Luck were published by Penguin India. He won the Katha Award (1996) and the DY 365 Literary Award (2014). He is the founder member of the North East Writers’ Forum, an English literary group active in northeast India, and is currently its President. He also maintains a monthly column Vagrant Words in The Assam Tribune newspaper. Born in Shillong in the State of Meghalaya and now living in the city of Guwahati in Assam, Dhruba Hazarika is a former bureaucrat and was placed in charge of the Assam Public Service Commission subsequent to his retirement from the Indian Administrative Service.

Breanne Mc Ivor

Breanne Mc Ivor is from Trinidad & Tobago. She studied English at the Universities of Cambridge and Edinburgh and co-founded People’s Republic of Writing (PROW). She has been shortlisted for the Commonwealth Short Story Prize, the Glimmer Train Fiction Open, the Fish One-Page Prize and the Derek Walcott Writing Prize. In 2015, she won The Caribbean Writer’s David Hough Literary Prize. She has just released her debut collection of short stories titled Where There Are Monsters.